The Natural History Museum is situated in South Kensington. It opened in 1881. Its collections were first displayed at the British Museum, until 1963. It was officially renamed the Natural History Museum in 1992.
It was built to catalogue the world's natural riches. In the museum, you can find galleries about the changing history of the Earth, the evolution of the planet, and the diversity of life on the planet.
Somerset House is a working arts center situated on The Strand, in the city of Westminster. The first building was built in 1547 by Edward Seymour and later, in 1553, Princess Elisabeth moved there. After her, numerous members of the Royal Family have lived there. This building was demolished and the building we know today was erected from 1775 to 1801. In 1779, the Royal Academy of Arts became its first resident. Since 1989, it has been housing the Courtauld Institue of Art.
At the Somerset House, you can find several galleries hosting exhibitions about different subjects (sustainability, art, literature, etc...), fairs, talks, performances, etc... And, of course, you can visit The Courtauld Gallery.
The Wellcome Collection is part of the Wellcome Trust, a charitable foundation focused on health research. The trust was founded in 1936 by Henry Wellcome, a pharmaceutical entrepreneur who, during his travels, amassed a huge collection of books, paintings and objects on the theme of the historical development of medicine worldwide.
The Wellcome Collection first opened in 2007 and then reopened in 2015 with additional public spaces. There, you can see two permanent exhibitions about being human in the 21st century and the collection of Henry Wellcome. There are also temporary exhibitions happening, mainly about health and science. Finally, there is a library with a really interesting collection.
William Morris was a British textile designer, poet, artist, novelist, architectural conservationist, printer, translator and socialist activist associated with the British Arts and Crafts Movement. He was a major contributor to the revival of traditional British textile arts and methods of production. He founded, in 1861, the Morris, Marshall, Faulkner & Co., a furnishings and decorative arts manufacturer and retailer, with friends from the Pre-Raphaelites.
The gallery is housed in Morris's family home in Walthamstow, in north-east London. It holds over 10,000 objects and is uniquely placed to tell the story of the life and work of Morris and his artistic circle. Holdings include original designs, textiles, wallpapers, furniture, stained glass, ceramics, metalwork, books and archival materials as well as personal items, such as his coffee cup and satchel. In addition to the Morris holdings, the Gallery owns a wide-ranging collection of Arts and Crafts material.
The Sir John Soane's Museum was established in 1833 by a Private Act of Parliament. It is housed in John Soane's house. John Soane was not only a British architect specialising in the Neo-Classical style but also an important art collector. It's his art collection you can discover in the museum.
The collection includes Antiquities, medieval and non-western objects, sculptures, paintings and drawings and architectural drawings and architectural models.